Event Recap: Volunteer Recognition Luncheon

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2023


The CREW Calgary Second Annual Volunteer Recognition Luncheon was a heartwarming celebration of dedicated volunteers and their invaluable contributions to CREW Calgary. Julie Shields, Chair of the Recognition Committee, opened the event with a warm welcome, expressing gratitude to the board, sponsors, judges, and volunteers whose collective efforts make the organization's work possible.

Throughout the event, our emcee and current CREW Calgary President, Christy Thompson, guided engaging conversations with three past presidents, Michelle Pink, Eve Renaud, and Lori Suba. They shared their experiences with CREW Network and discussed the profound impact of volunteering. The event also featured the recognition of exceptional volunteers, showcasing their unwavering dedication and significant contributions to the organization, underscoring the strong sense of community and support within CREW Calgary.

Outstanding Volunteer Award Recipients:

New Volunteer of Excellence – Summer Newman
Outstanding Volunteer – Ed Tsang
Volunteer Leader – Amy Kelso
Volunteer of the Year – Larissa Svekla

The outstanding volunteers were honored for their exceptional dedication and leadership in their respective roles. Summer received well-deserved recognition for her remarkable efforts in sponsorship delivery, while Ed's transformative impact on the organization was celebrated. Amy's exceptional leadership in reorganizing the Marketing Committee and advocating for software improvements was acknowledged, and Larissa's steadfast commitment to CREW Calgary, her innovative initiatives, and her active participation in the CREW Network Convention highlighted the immense value of her contributions.